Just my two cents about my top five books from different genres:

Image result for i love books

My favourite type of books are fictitious works. I love getting lost in other worlds and imagining what the characters look, sound, dress and act like. I love how my imagination opens up and creates out of this world environments based on what I read. That is what a great fictitious book can do for you. Sometimes all you need is a good book and an ideal place to read it.

I love all books and I guess the main reason is because books have always been a part of my childhood. Growing up I was priveldged enough to have amassed quite a collection of books and a night time story was just the norm growing up. Being exposed to books at a young age and seeing my parents read also contributed greatly to my passion. I remember growing up and being frustrated that I didn’t have a clue how to read or how to start learning. I pushed myself and often read passing signs as we drove to and from destinations. It became my mission to learn how to read and once I had achieved my goal (well before the required age I might add) there was no stopping me.

The premise is that we start with picture books for toddlers and young children. Picture books usually consist of 32 pages and have illustrations that match the text. They help to develop children cognitively and help to stimulate the imagination. The accompanying pictures could lead children to predict what might happen next sequentially thus contributing to cognitive stimulation. My favourite picture book would have to be Rosie’s Walk by Pat Hutchins. The story is about a silly hen named Rosie, who goes on a walk around the farmyard and makes it back to her coop safely just in time for dinner. She is totally oblivious to the sly fox who is never too far away trying to make a meal of her, but overcomes obstacles each time he tries to catch Rosie. The ironic part of the book is that the text and illustrations do not match and the fox is not mentioned in the title either.

Image result for rosie's walk

As children get older they learn to read and then read to learn. Having had a reading habit in place will enhance a child’s ability to progress at school. As children mature and become young adults they develop a more realistic view on life, their environment and social standing. They would then start to read books with which they can relate, like problem realism books which deal with young adult issues like opposition towards authorities, conflict with parents, relationships with friends, abuse and depression. A realism book which I really enjoyed was an Afrikaans teenage book titled Asem (“Breath”) by ,South African author, Jan Vermeulen. The protagonist, Barries, deals with every conceivable situation which teenagers could go through. He gets into trouble with the law, has a difficult relationship with his parents and other characters, has love conflicts and ultimately has to choose which path he wants to follow in life. It was a great read because it resonated with me and took me back to my teenage years. What I loved the most about the book is the fact that he makes three very unlikely friends with whom he shares special bonds. Two are positive towards his development and help to ensure that his values and morals are in place, while the later leads him to make poor life choices. We have all experienced peer pressure and made friends with unlikely individuals who end up being just what we needed in life.

32185022


Reading about other cultures and periods in time gives us insight into how life used to be and how different people around the world lived up until today. The one historical novel which resonated with me the most was Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I love how vain Pip became once he reached his goal of becoming a gentleman in order to win Estella’s affection. The book taught me not to make outward appearances a priority but to rather look for beautiful characteristics within ourselves and others. Furthermore, that we shouldn’t reply upon our own assumptions to assess situations. Pip believed that Miss Havisham had been his benefactor all those years, but it turned out to be the ex- convict, Magwitch, from his childhood. The main theme was perception versus reality.

Teaching Great Expectations



How boring would life be without fantasy fiction? An all time favourite of mine has to be the first book in the Harry Potter series, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. After discovering that he is a wizard, Harry is sent to Hogwarts wizardry school where he makes friends, enemies, is loved, hated and almost killed. Great fantasy books transport us to other worlds and Hogwarts seemed pretty real to me with intricate details about how the building, rooms, classrooms and bedrooms looked. The good guys and bad guys were not always easy to differentiate and that is what gripped me.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

My favourite non-fiction book has to be Steve Harvey’s relationship advice book titled Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man. What I love the most about Steve Harvey is that he is honest and real. He revealed many tips which men would rather not have us know, like how to spot a player and how long one should wait before becoming intimate and finding out if a guy is really serious about you. The book helped me to realize that I need to set standards for myself and my relationship and that if those standards are not met then it could be time to move on. Deal breakers were my favourite part of the book, it detailed realistic reasons to break up or stay with a partner. I feel like men and women should read it.

When reading we gain knowledge and knowledge is power. What do we have to lose by enriching our minds? I would definately encourage you to read atleast one book from various genres and sub genres, you might just find that you enjoy it!

Leave a comment